News Search


Vance Commissary named best small commissary

  • Published
  • By 71st FTW Public Affairs
The Commissary here earned first place in the Richard M. Paget Award in the Defense Commissary Agency's Best Commissary of the Year competition for fiscal year 2013.

"Your excellence in the areas of accountability, customer satisfaction, unit cost, sales and accident rates has set you high above the rest," said Joseph H. Jeu, the DeCA director in a letter to Sheila Gilbert, the Vance Commissary director. "Thank you for all you do on a daily basis to ensure the military community and their families in your areas receive the highest quality service from the commissary benefit the Defense Commissary Agency provides."

The award was announced in late April, and the trophy was presented April 23 by Colonels Darren James and Chris Daniels, the 71st Flying Training Wing and the 71st Mission Support Group commanders respectively.

"Our commissary represents what Vance is all about; community and enabling the mission," said Daniels. "This recognition is well deserved and long overdue. Ms. Gilbert and her team work extremely hard for our Airmen and families and it is appreciated."

Each year, DeCA honors select military commissary worldwide for exceptional service and dedication in delivering the commissary benefit. The honors date back more than 50 years, long before DeCA's inception.

The awards are named in honor of American statesmen who protected the commissary benefit and championed quality-of-life issues for the military community.