HomeAbout UsBiographiesDisplay

Biography Display



Col. Paul Moga is the Commander, 33rd Fighter Wing, Eglin Air Force Base, Fla. He leads the F-35A Lightning II flying program and hosts the F-35 A/B/C maintenance training for the Marine Corps, Navy, Air Force and eight international partners. The wing is also responsible for U.S. Air Force and international air battle manager training at Tyndall AFB, Fla., and intelligence formal training at Eglin AFB and Hurlburt Field, Fla. Eglin AFB is home to 46 F-35s assigned to two flying squadrons; the 58th Fighter Squadron and USN VFA-101. The unique nature of this fighter wing accommodates service-specific requirements in a non-traditional Air Force fighter wing structure.

Colonel Moga received his commission from the United States Air Force Academy in 1995. He attended pilot training at Laughlin AFB, Texas, and went on to fly the F-15C. He was later one of 15 pilots Air Force-wide selected as the initial F-22 Instructor Pilot cadre for the 43rd Fighter Squadron at Tyndall AFB. The colonel was then chosen as the first F-22 Demonstration Team pilot, and was an operational F-22 squadron commander at Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson in Anchorage, Alaska. Col. Moga was selected for and attended the NATO Defense College in Rome, Italy, and served on the U.S. European Command Staff as a deputy division chief. Prior to holding his current position, he served as the vice commander of the 80th Flying Training Wing at Sheppard AFB, Texas. 



1995 Bachelor of Science, Biology, United States Air Force Academy, Colorado Springs, Colo.

2002 Squadron Officer School, Maxwell AFB, Ala. (Distinguished Graduate)

2006 Air Command and Staff College, by correspondence

2011 Master of Science, Criminal Justice, Southwest University, by correspondence (High Honors)

2012 NATO Defense College, Rome, Italy (Distinguished Graduate)

2016 Joint and Combined Warfighting School, Joint Forces Staff College, Norfolk, Va.

2016 Enterprise Leadership Seminar, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill Kenan-Flagler Business School


1. May 1995 – Feb 1996, Laboratory and Research Technician, Biology Department, U.S. Air Force Academy, Colo.

2. February 1996 – February 1997: Student Pilot, T-37 and T-38A, Laughlin AFB, Texas

3. June 1997 – January 1998: Student Pilot, F-15C, Tyndall AFB, Fla.

4. January 1998 – February 2001: F-15C Instructor Pilot, Elmendorf AFB, Alaska

5. February 2001 – October 2004: F-15C Flying Training Unit Instructor Pilot, Tyndall AFB, Fla.

6. October 2004 – July 2006: F-22A FTU Instructor Pilot, Tyndall AFB, Fla.

7. July 2006 – February 2009: F-22A Instructor Pilot, F-22A Demonstration Pilot, Langley AFB, Va.

8. February 2009 – February 2010: Chief, ACC Senior Leader Management, Langley AFB, Va.

9. February 2010 – May 2011: Operations Officer, 525th Fighter Squadron, Elmendorf AFB, Alaska

10. May 2011 – June 2012: Commander, 525th Fighter Squadron, Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson, Alaska

11. June 2012 – February 2013: Student, NATO Defense College, Rome, Italy

12. February 2013 – June 2015: Executive Officer to the Chief of Staff/Deputy Chief Europe Division, U.S. European Command, Stuttgart, Germany

13. June 2015 – April 2017, Vice Commander, 80th Flying Training Wing, Sheppard AFB, Texas

14. April 2017 – Present, Wing Commander, 33rd Fighter Wing, Eglin AFB, Fla.


Rating: Command Pilot

Total Flight Hours: Approximately 2,500

Aircraft Flown:  T-37, T-38A/C, AT-38, T-6, F-15C/D, F-22A, F-35A


Legion of Merit

Defense Meritorious Service Medal

Meritorious Service Medal with three oak leaf clusters

Air Medal with two oak leaf clusters

Aerial Achievement Medal

Joint Service Commendation Medal

Joint Meritorious Unit Award

AF Outstanding Unit Award with four oak leaf clusters

Combat Readiness Medal with oak leaf cluster

Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal with oak leaf cluster

Kosovo Campaign Medal

Global War on Terrorism Service Medal

Second Lieutenant May 1995

First Lieutenant May 1997

Captain May 1999

Major July 2005

Lieutenant Colonel March 2009

Colonel June 2015

(Current as of February 2019)